I Confess…The 7 Days of Elements of Art

I confess that I had a lot of fun with this unit. It came to me one night 2 weeks before the end of the year before Christmas break. As luck would have it for my A and B day 6th graders there were 7 schools days left before the break.

(To the tune of “The 12 Days of Christmas”)

On the first day of art class

my teacher taught to me:

The Element of Line

On the second day of art class

my teacher taught to me:

Circle or square and

The Element of Line

On the third day of art class

my teacher taught to me:

Form is 3D

Circle or square and

The Element of Line

On the fourth day of art class

my teacher taught to me:

Tints, Shades, and Tones

Form is 3D

Circle or square and

The Element of Line

On the fifth day of art class

my teacher taught to me:

Space (pause) Near or far

Tints, Shades, and Tones

Form is 3D

Circle or square and

The Element of Line

On the sixth day of art class

my teacher taught to me:

Rough or Smooth

Space (pause) Near or Far

Tints, Shades, and Tones

Form is 3D

Circle or square and

The Element of Line

On the seventh day of art class

my teacher taught to me:

Lightness or Darkness

Rough or Smooth

Space (pause) Near or Far

Tints, Shades, and Tones

Form is 3D

Circle or square and

The Element of Line

I made an “ugly” Elements of Art sweatshirt that I wore each class. I made my students a print out of the ugly sweater and each class they filled out each section with the new element they were learning that day. Check it out.

 

Each day, I had my students do an art activity related to the element they were learning. We started off by playing an element of arts memory game.

Line

Students created ornaments designed with lines after discussing line in art.

Shape

Students created cubist Christmas trees coloring in triangles after discussing shapes in art.

Form

Students played a shape and form “telephone” game after discussing form.

Color

Students filled out color ornaments after discussing color in art.

Space

Students were introduced to perspective by drawing these snowmen.

Texture

Students made texture rubbings using texture plates and this worksheet of snowflakes.

Value

Students finished of the learning experience with the element of value by using oil pastels to make moonlight snowmen.

Next year, I plan to start right after Christmas so I can spend more time on each value, but this was fun and a great way to engage the students before winter break.


 

How do you handle the days leading up to break? 

Save

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

