My Home Studio|Office Makeover

Whew! Today I’m sharing the big reveal of my little home office makeover. This space has come a long way in what has been a long two week process.

IMG_20160808_094514935

I had to wait until my boys were away so I could get busy cleaning, tossing, purging, decorating and rearranging my home studio/office. The task has been a long time coming. I can’t even remember the last time I could see the floor. Some days I would just open the door after returning from the store after buying some sewing or art supplies and just toss the bag in the door.

What stinks about that is that I haven’t been able to really do any projects or DIYs or sew. I have all these plans and I’ve had no space to accomplish them. BUT NOT ANYMORE!!! My room is clean and I’m ready to create. In a 12 x 10 space, I’m bursting at the seams (pun intended) but I like to call it my creative clutter. There’s a lot to see but I was tired of hiding the things that inspired me the most.

With my room clean, now I’m ready to create a solid plan for opening the doors of a sewing and fashion studio for kids and a program specifically for underserved kids. I’m ready to write a manual for all those looking to start a similar program. I’m ready to start a fashion design and sewing subscription box to complement the program. I’m ready to get my lesson plan ready for the Digital Fashion Design class I’m teaching in September and October.  I’m ready to take what I HOPE will be my final classes so that I can apply for certification in May.

Here’s what the room looked like a couple months ago.

wp-1452011561712.jpeg

 

Even though I still have WAY TOO much stuff in there  (I’m a creative hoarder, I guess) I finally have room to work. And now that it’s clean my husband and son can’t seem to stay out of my sacred space. 😦 Oh well. Here’s what she looks like today.

IMG_20160808_094359623
My cramped but personality full home office/studio

 

 

I really had fun making some changes. I had this awesome rug from Ikea just sitting in the closet for future use in my sewing studio but I decided to pull it out for my office. I figure that I wouldn’t want this rug in the studio anyway with it being such a nice white. Don’t those buttons look great.

I took advantage of a Michaels coupon and an 80% off sale to get the letters to spell out ART, SEW and WE ARE FASHION.  Michaels was also the source of the CREATE and BELIEVE décor on the window sill and the K on the wall.

If you haven’t stopped by yet, you must go to the fun section at the front of Target stores. You can always score some cheap cute finds like the peg boards, dry erase boards, chalk boards and magnetic boards I found in circles and in squares.

No makeover would be complete without some storage essentials from Ikea. LOVE IKEA! Can you live there?

I think that the most fun project I tackled in this makeover was my desk. My husband built that desk for me when we were just dating and he’s been trying to get me to get rid of it. But I really love it. It’s a nice width and height. So instead of replacing it, I just decided to give it a little facelift. I’d found this great paint color Party Dress Pink from Mystic Paints (going to use it on the walls in the studio) and I knew that I wanted to use it in my office too. So I painted my desk and to make sure that the paint job would stay pristine, I went over to Lowes and bought a sheet of acrylic and used stick dots to attach it to the top my desk. Then I attached the drawers from my Grandmothers antique sewing machine to the front and underside of the desk. For some they might seem out of place but they’re just perfect to me.

Eventually, when I get in a classroom and open the studio some of my prized possessions on display will find there way out of my office but until then I’ll enjoy seeing them every time I open the door to my office.

Katrina signature

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

