“We Are” 101|Activists

As I’ve become older, I’ve become more vocal about things. Having a child makes you want to fight for a lot more. Looking around and watching the news makes me want to get on a big bullhorn and just shout “Knock It Off!” I think that I if I’d grown up in the 60s, I would have been a part of the civil rights movement and the women’s rights movement if I had lived in the 1800s.

Pollution, Gender Inequality, Racism, Sexism and on and on and on. We were not put on this planet to judge, we were put here to love. Jesus was faultless. He came here to heal bodies and souls. And we are to do the same as followers of Christ.

Do you know that there are hate groups that claim to be Christian and have cherry picked the Bible to suit their ideas.

The Golden Rule

Matthew 19:16-22

Jesus Counsels the Rich Young Ruler

16 Now behold, one came and said to Him, “Good Teacher, what good thing shall I do that I may have eternal life?”

17 So He said to him, “Why do you call Me good? No one is good but One, that is, God. But if you want to enter into life, keep the commandments.”

18 He said to Him, “Which ones?”

Jesus said, “‘You shall not murder,’ ‘You shall not commit adultery,’ ‘You shall not steal,’ ‘You shall not bear false witness,’ 19 ‘Honor your father and your mother,’ and, ‘You shall love your neighbor as yourself.’ ”

The Ten Commandments are plain and simple so that we can all understand. And regardless of your beliefs (it doesn’t matter if you believe in God or not) if you looked at these words and followed them this world be infinitely better. At least the cheating and killing would cease. But sadly that’s not the way it is, so as true stewards of Christ we have to be the change that we want to see. We’ve got to start treating each other better. Treating each other the way we want to be treated.

Be the Change You Want to See

In being the change we want to see however does not mean putting others voices, values or opinions down because we don’t agree. We are all free to be who we are but we don’t have the right to put our hands on others or take their lives. If your change is rooted in hate and prejudice you are not following the Golden Rule unless you like others hating you. What do you have to do to become more active?

  1. Find out what motivates you, because this will ignite your passion to do something.
  2. Believe that you can make a difference. Think of all the people that did and all the wonderful changes to have happened in this world as a result.
  3. Do some research and see if there are organizations around you already doing the work that you want to do and join them or start your own.
  4. Looking at your strengths, figure out what you can do to help. Donate you time? Your money? Your skills? Choose how you want to help.
  5. Understand what you’re getting into and then choose where you want to  help and just start.

One of the reasons, I started We Are F.A.S.H.I.O.N was because I wanted to make a change in the lives of young minority girls. When I was in design school, I looked around me and what I didn’t see moved me to see a change in the environment that I was in. A more colorful diverse idea of design and fashion in all aspects of the industry. I also wanted to give kids a lifelong skill, help them through school, help them to grow as individuals and help them develop their passions. Among other things. It took me awhile to get started because I thought that I needed to be a big time person in fashion with connections, but all I really need was to start. And when I did the reward was instantaneous and amazing.

Here are some great children’s books to share with your kids to teach them about standing up for others and about being the change they want to see.

Activists 1

Activists 4

Activists 6

Activists 2

Activists 5

Activists 3

Be the Change You Want to See

 

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

