The Creative Call|Before I Was a Blogger..

Pink Koala Design logo
Logo created by Moxie Pear

I had a company making modern colorful accessories for babies and moms.  Pink Koala Design was my vision for something that lacked in the market at a time that I was trying to have a baby and failing miserably. In spite of the difficulties of infertility, I made (bragging on myself) beautifully curated baby bibs, burp clothes, changing stations (DiaperKeeper(C)), pinafores, and that morphed into stockings, aprons and eventually adding on tote bags, cosmetic bags, and clutches.

Towards the end of fashion design school at Drexel University, I found a love for accessories. The store owner of the boutique that I worked in allowed me the opportunity to sell bags in the store. And I made all the accessories, hats, bags, and jewelry for my grad fashion project. I LOVE accessories because they are the icing aka “the suga’ “on an outfit whether it’s a simple diamond necklace or a statement necklace Iris Apfel would envy.

Pink Koala Design was on Etsy and I also had my own website. I sold to customers all over the world. Locally, I sold my product in several stores and at craft markets. I gifted product to some pretty popular celebs and even went out to Hollywood for an invite only gifting suite for the Golden Globes.

IMG_2828
Photo: Katrina Griffis

And then something happened to change all that. What I first saw as burnout, discontent soon gave way to some health issues and ultimately realizing that God was moving me in a new direction in life still connected to design and fashion but different. My focus shifted to surface pattern design and I had the vision of a building a mom community blog that didn’t take off. Ultimately I really only wanted to talk about design, so I started another blog for just me. Eventually I took a step back and decided to combine the best aspects of each blog into We Are F.AS.H.I.O.N. which was the name that I had come up with for my mentoring program.

Blog Logo without ears
Logo created by: We Are F.A.S.H.I.O.N.

Oh I forgot to mention that? Well the direction that God was leading me in was teaching and mentoring kids. The idea first came to me in design school and 11 years later I started making moves to make that program happen. You can read about that here.

While I haven’t made bags in about four years and it’s no longer my main passion or direction, Pink Koala Design was big part of my CREATIVE story, my creative calling.  I still LOVE them and I have totes of unfinished bags that I plan to resurrect in the summer. People ask me all the time if I’m going to make bags again because they LOVE them. They were well constructed and I used some of the best fabrics I could find, many that are out of print now.  I thought it would be cool to share a few of my favorites and a sneak peek into some that I’ll be working on this summer.  When I pull out the unfinished bags and see the fabrics, I get a rush of excitement and I can’t wait to see them on the arm of some FABULOUS electric lady.

Have a look at some of my favorite designs.

//BAGS//

//BIBS//

//BURP CLOTHS//

 

//CLUTCHES//

//MISC//

Katrina signature

Leave a Reply

