The Suga’|We Are F.A.S.H.I.O.N Afterschool Program

Blog Logo without ears

As I get closer to finishing my teaching credentials, I’m thinking more and more about the afterschool fashion program I plan to start. I’ve done this on a small scale in middle school and with my church but I’d like to start this program wherever I end up teaching. So I’m thinking about classes, lessons, and even workshops etc. I have a lot of supplies because I don’t want the kids to have to supply anything to participate.

There are still quite a few things that I need to purchase. Dress forms, sewing supplies etc. I’ve snatched up a few used and new sewing machines. I have some of my own that I can use but still need a few more. I only have one professional dressform and it’s vintage (aka yellowed and falling apart).

Purchasing dressforms will take a good portion of my costs.  Then of course computers and regular sewing and patternmaking supplies. I’m going to use everything that I already have and I have accumulated quite a bit of useful supplies. And of course there’s furniture. Again use what I have and Ikea for the rest. This is all still a work in progress but I’m excited about where it could go. This program has the potential of being really big for my organization and others like We Are F.A.S.H.I.O.N.

These are some resources I’ve found in my planning.

Dressforms

Mannequin Madness

Ebay

Amazon

Sewing Supplies

Gold Star

CTS USA

J Hittle

Books

Etsy (great for vintage books)

Amazon

Afterschool Matters (a great chapter about an afterschool fashion program)

Party Supplies

Oriental Trading Company

Shindigz

If you know of any good websites let me know.

Leave a Reply

