Haute Momma: My 40s Style Guide|Purging and Rebuilding Part 2

wp-1453212754563.jpeg

Ok so now that we’ve covered that,  let’s talk purging and rebuilding. After I looked at my style boards as mentioned in Part 1, I love retro sneakers, dark denim jeans, striped shirts, leather skirts and moto-style jackets. So I made a list of all the things that my boards revealed and once I had that I was ready to shop but first…I went into my closet and pulled out anything that didn’t fit my list. What I ended up with was a pile of clothes that I NEVER wore anyway because they weren’t my style.

After I looked at the huge pile of clothes, I went back to my list and checked off the items that I had already. No need to buy anything new if it’s already represented at least twice in my closet. After that I had a better picture of what I wanted to add to my new 40s wardrobe.

Next, get yourself a notebook. I had a unused 5 x 7 notebook that I wrote my list in. I broke the list down like this:

  1. Styles
  2. Prints/Patterns
  3. Necklines
  4. Hems
  5. Colors
  6. Textures
  7. Shoe Styles
  8. Accessories Style

Feel free to break your list down however it helps you.

 

wp-1453212432662.jpeg

 

I even created a list of work week chic wear based on my overall list.

Ok, so we’re almost done. Look out for Part 3-Creating Your Style Guide

Stay classy! Trina

What must have styles are on your list?

5 thoughts on “Haute Momma: My 40s Style Guide|Purging and Rebuilding Part 2

  1. aikifox85 says:

    1) What do you end up doing with the items you no longer use?

    2) I’d be interested to see a few outfit selfies when you’re done – Pinterest boards are great but no two people wear the same outfit the same way. 🙂

    I don’t think I’ve ever put that much thought into my personal style – I just tend to buy stuff that I like (or raid my boyfriend’s closet as we’re the same size, lol). My non-professional style (90% of the time as my job does not require me to be formal) generally consists of cargo pants and a graphic/text tshirt. In cold weather I usually wear a longsleeve of coordinating color under said tshirt (think Sheldon from Big Bang Theory) and/or a hoodie. Though there are variants. Actually wearing a mock Star Trek: The Next Generation uniform styled hoodie I got from Think Geek at the moment – complete with rank pips and a comm. badge I picked up on eBay – and a tshirt with an image of Picard’s Enterprise 🙂

    Like

  2. Katrina says:

    Selfies not needed. This post really is about the individual. I’m just showing how I refined my style not what I wear. You take what you like, create your own boards and use it as a guide.

    Your board would have pictures of maybe different graphic tees you like. I like clothes and I think about what I’m going to wear. This really helped make it an easier process.

    Like

Leave a Reply

