The Suga’|Are the New Barbies for us or the kids?

New Barbies

These dolls are beautiful but I’m just confused about all the fuss that prompted these changes. On one hand, I love to see the diversity and on the other hand I think that people have made a bigger deal of Barbie’s body then EVER needed to be made.  I feel like I missed the memo when people stopped being role models and dolls became role models.

Growing up, I wanted to look like Janet Jackson, dance like Paula Abdul and sing like Vanessa Williams (the Miss America one). I never wanted to be like Barbie. She was a doll. Just like my Cabbage Patch Kids, Raggedy Ann, and my Strawberry Shortcake doll. Those dolls certainly weren’t a reflection of anyone I knew. These new Barbies which are part of the Fashionista line are suppose to be a more representative reflection of women in our world. According to the Mattel spokesman these new dolls allow “the product line to be a better reflection of what girls see in the world around them”.

I never said to my mom “Why can’t I look like Barbie” or “I want a body like Barbie”. I DID want her wardrobe and I still do, but never her body. I’ve read the articles and studies putting Barbie down, like she’s a real person and I wonder is this how kids feel or are we as parents projecting our insecurities on them.


These dolls are beautiful to me because they are diverse and I love fashion and their clothes and hair are cute, but at the end of the day they are just dolls. They will never overshadow the “pop” princesses of our day. Those are the people that young girls are looking up to.

Growing up in the 80s, we had black Barbie dolls. I had one and the rest were white (they all had the same body except Skipper) and quite honestly I didn’t care. One Christmas, I wanted this doll called Baby Alive (it pooped and peed). My mom got me a black one and my dad got me a white one. I named one Katrina and the other Nicole and guess what I LOVED them both. Still have them to this day. That said, when my nieces were young, I bought them black Barbies because I wanted them to have dolls that reflected black beauty. But I know now, that was my hang up, not theirs. If it came down to no dolls or white dolls, they would have chosen the white Barbie doll. That’s been proven in study after study.


So I hope introducing these new dolls will shut people up and I hope it proves successful for Mattel. I think that people will find something else to complain about, be it the clothes or their sexual preference. For me at the end of the day, they’re just dolls and with a little imagination they can be anything you want them to be. My Barbies were models and they owned a computer company and they shared Ken. I cut and colored their hair, painted bathing suits on them, did their nails, and spent countless hours playing with them. But they NEVER not for one minute defined me or caused me to question who I was then or who I was going to become.

Stepping off my soap box. Stay classy.

Are we taking Barbie too seriously?

 

5 Comments

  1. janec5000

    I think it’s great that they are making such a diverse line of Barbie dolls. I believe this should have happened decades ago, but better late then never. I think the world is really starting to see that beauty isn’t just one image, but that everyone is beautiful, and I think that’s a great message to be sending to kids.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. aikifox85

    Are these new dolls for the kids or for the adults? I think a bit of both. If you think about it, we were the first generation (I’m assuming you were a kid in the 80’s/ early 90’s based on your references) that were subjected to demographic studies and panels, that had commercials directed specifically to us. Now we are adults, we are the parents of these younger kids, and we have been taught that we can direct the commercial market by the power of our dollars.

    There is nothing wrong (or even different) about our generation taking an interest in how we choose to raise our kids. Our parents handed us their values, and their parents handed them theirs, and on back. Although, OUR values have also been commercialized (so have our *lives* – reality TV came about under *our* reign. We care enough to make it profitable.) and so, it stands to reason that brands and marketing will be factored into how we raise our kids. (Yay Capitalism?)

    There is also a lot to be said for the Nostalgia market. Heck, I was in Toys R Us the other day and saw items I *know* were marketed to ME — Figures from movies like Alien that are over 20 years old, Figures from TV shows (The Walking Dead) that I have trouble believing parents are really OK with their kids watching (I may be wrong).

    Like

      1. aikifox85

        I got Tall and Petite in the mail yesterday and Curvy came in today. Planning to take some photos and write up a review either tonight or tomorrow. After these I have to put my own doll buying on hold for awhile. Kind of went overboard recently, heh. 🙂 But, at the same time, I think having all these dollies helps make me the Awesome Aunt, haha. My nephew enjoys playing with them – he brings some of his bigger toy cars and gives them rides around the living room 🙂 I can’t wait for my baby cousin to get old enough to play – she just turned 2.

        Like

Leave a Reply

