African Textiles: African Prints in Classic Design

AFP 18

Image via A Leap of Style

Lately, I’ve really been feeling African prints. I LOVE the bold colors and the large prints. I saw a tweet today from Teen Vogue about an online class entitled Forging Your Way in Fashion and Etsy seller turned creative director and founder of the Beyoncé approved Demestiks New York fashion label, Reuben Reuel (also one of Forbes 30 under 30) is lending his expertise to the class.

Reuel is one of several designers using traditional African textiles to create beautiful designer clothing. Other designers like Kaela Kay, A Leap of Style by Karissa Lindsey,  Chen Burkett NY and Kiki Clothing by Titi Ademola (Nicole Ari Parker is a fan).


I, myself, have been flirting with the idea of using vintage patterns from the 50s, 60s and 70s and African textiles, to create some one of a kind fashion for myself and maybe for sale. A peplum, midi or maxi skirt in an Ankara print is just divine.


African textiles, depending on where they originate can be called ankara, kente, dutch wax, kampala, or adinkra, just to name a few. You can find some African gems on Etsy. Here’s a great book on Amazon discussing the history of African textiles.


Like I said, I love African prints but I think any traditional fabric like Indian, Spanish, or Japanese could be used.


I’ve collected more on my Pinterest board.

AFP Group

Who are some of your favorite designers using traditional fabrics with classic silhouettes?

2 thoughts on “African Textiles: African Prints in Classic Design

Leave a Reply

