It’s Everbody’s Duty To Give The World A Reason To Dance

93
from Instagram

The dancer inside me does a grand jete anytime I see picture of Misty Copeland. I decided in 8th grade that I wanted to study fashion and become a designer. But before that I wanted to be the next Paula Abdul. Dance has always been in my soul. Almost as strong as fashion. I love to dance. Movement and rhythm runs through every part of me.

When I was 7 or 8, I wanted to be a ballet dancer. My mom signed me up for lessons. I was so excited but quickly that excitement was fizzled out. I tried but quickly found that ballet wasn’t for me. The teacher was always telling me to tuck my butt in and I never could get the stance that she wanted. The problem with that, is that I was a little black girl with a well defined backside and I couldn’t tuck it in. Needless to say, it was very frustrating and I gave up. Sadly, I never tried again.

I never stopped loving ballet or dancing. My best friend and I religiously watched Fame, idolized Debbie Allen and pretended to be dancers living in a loft in New York City. It wasn’t until I was a little older that I discovered dance companies like Alvin Ailey. Beautiful dancers of color, people that looked like me doing what I loved.

Misty Copeland is the first black ballet dancer to gain the coveted spot of “principal dancer” with the American Ballet Theater. She’s beautiful. She’s strong. She’s caring. And she’s extremely blessed, gifted and talented. Misty is a mentor to others that wish to follow in her footsteps and she gives her time to various charities around the world. Ok I’m gushing now. I’m sure you can tell that I greatly admire her and see that she truly is an inspiration to me. So I congratulate her on her success and I look forward to the day that I see her perform. Until then I’ll keep striving and keep dancing.

91
from Instagram

Leave a Reply

