the woman I want to be

who

from thesilverpen.com

“I didn’t always know what I wanted to do, but I knew the kind of woman I wanted to be.” Diane Von Furstenberg

God grief it’s been 11 days since I last posted. I really have no excuse. I’ve been working on my website and business plan (cart before the horse) for my fashion program for youth in my local area. Over the past couple of years I’ve transitioned from being a maker to a teacher. My whole teen age life into adulthood I’ve wanted to be a fashion designer. That’s all I’ve ever thought about. When I graduated I took a safe and easy job working as a clothing designer for the government and began selling small handmade accessories on the side. I had some small success with that for a few years but I started to get burnt out and began looking for fulfillment in other areas. I dabbled in surface pattern design which I really enjoy but something was still missing. Back when I was in design school, I had the idea of starting a non-profit organization to expose underprivileged girls to the world of fashion design. After reaching complete exhaustion with making product and much soul searching, I dug out my plans for the Pathway to Fashion Success (that’s the name I used for a business plan) and started making moves. After talking to several people and lots of research, I approached a local middle school about starting a volunteer enrichment program teaching girls about fashion. I also applied to be a temporary summer college instructor for the Kids and Teens College teaching fashion design classes and I’ve been hired. All the while I’ve been bouncing around with expanding the program in the middle school and how to go about with the non-profit.

Recently, I’ve decided to go forward with a for-profit business that includes all the plans that I had for the non-profit and much more. I’m using the book Sixteen Weeks to Your Dream Business by Nada Jones. I’ve located three possible locations and I’m looking to secure funding so I can get started. There are so many great fashion studios/camps out there but nothing like it in my rural area.  Because I was in the maker business and design school, I’ve already collected so many books and supplies and I’m ready to get started first with parties, then classes/lessons/workshops and then camps. I’ve been looking into Kickstarter and other financing for women entrepreneurs. Hell, I’ve even been playing the lottery. My deadline to be fully up and running is September 20, 2018.  So less than four years to get my butt in gear. I’m excited. My plans are HUGE. But one look at the website I’ve set up and you’ll see that this will be great for the kids in my area. Nothing quite like it exists. Why didn’t I do this sooner and thousands of dollars ago? I don’t think that I was ready yet. I hadn’t evolved to the place I now stand. I’ve grown up. I’m a mom and life has a different focus for me now. That leads to the topic of my post. The woman (or man) you want to be.

Do you ever ask yourself this question? Most of us only think about WHAT we want to be?

That’s all I thought about. I wanted to be a fashion designer when I grew up. I wanted to make clothes, accessories, prints and patterns. It wasn’t until I hit the wall a few years back that I really started to re-evaluate and started asking myself WHO I wanted to be. A mentor, a teacher, a role model. I want to be someone that gives something meaningful back by sharing my passion with like minded individuals particularly the youth in my area. You see I love fashion and design and illustration and color and creating and pattern and print and I could go on and on. I could talk for hours on the subject. Also with my son in school, I look for more flexibility in my life where I dictate my hours and comings and goings. He can see now what makes mommy happy and he likes for me to be happy.

I found a great post over at ltd365.com that helped me to start looking at my life and dreams through a different set of lenses. You can check out the full article out here but here are the thought provoking questions from the article.

1) What does your average day look like? Are you earning frequent flyer miles or staying close to home?

2) What hours will you keep? Be honest, realistic and healthy when answering this question, not enough time and you lose momentum and too much time and you burn out quickly and other areas of you life suffer.  

3) Who do you want to surround yourself with? Who do you want to interact with? Are they hip and tech savvy, well-educated and cerebral or creative visionaries? (BTW, these are not mutually exclusive but I needed to make a point so forgive the generalizations.)

4) Where would you like to work from? What do your surrounding look like? Are there people there to interact with or are you alone with your thoughts and your computer? Is it your home, a retail venue or a high rise?

5) Who are the people you serve? We all serve someone, whether an author serving her readers with great tales, a philanthropist serving those she is passionate about empowering or an accountant keeping her clients financially healthy.

6) What does this dream venture provide you once in motion? What are you ultimately hoping to accomplish? Are you in it for the money, the flexibility of schedule or fulfilling a deep passion? 

I’d love to hear some of your answers and please share them with our readers. WHO do you want to be?

Leave a Reply

