Soul Suga’|Success

be the change“Look, if you had one shot, or one opportunity To seize everything you ever wanted. One moment Would you capture it or just let it slip?

“So here I go it’s my shot. Feet, fail me not, this may be the only opportunity that I got,

You better lose yourself in the music, the moment You own it, you better never let it go You only get one shot, do not miss your chance to blow This opportunity comes once in a lifetime”

Lose Yourself, Eminem

I love these lyrics to this song. When I hear it on the radio, I turn it up full blast and I start pounding the steering wheel and rapping from the top of my lungs. I feel this song in every part of my body. For Pink Koala Design and the burnout that followed, for every surface pattern design contest I entered and lost, I get up and keep trying. I was never meant to be a civil servant sitting in a cubical typing on a computer all day. I’ve felt like breaking out for years. I cannot grow old in Salem’s lot. Failure would be spending the rest of my working years sitting in 1240-F10 looking out the window and getting older by the year. Success is fulfilling my gift. The gift that God gave me. The gift I discovered when I was 13 years old.

2013 was a year of discovery for me. Ever since grad school I’ve wanted to share my love of fashion with teenage girls and I made steps in that direction by volunteering and starting a fashion club. I feel like I’ve finally walked into my destiny however it was not without challenges. I still have a day job. Notice that I call it a job and not a career. There really truly is a huge difference. The government furlough and cutbacks really pushed me out of my comfort zone. Changes have made my design skills almost useless and I know that I’ve got to find that open door. It’s my hope to expand the program in 2014 and really see what We Are Fashion (fashion club) can become because my plans are huge.

The other day I had my first interview in 10 years to become a teacher for the Kids and Teens College in my area. Teaching is a huge part of my life. My mom is a retired teacher and I married a teacher. But I’m honestly not sure if teaching is my thing. I did some substitute teaching in the past. Right after I graduated from undergrad, I took a position as a long term substitute teacher and was even told that I could be considered for the full time position. Even then all I could think about was design and teaching business was not in my plans. The kids had no drive (it was typing so I don’t really blame them) but my attitude quickly shifted to “I’ve already got my degree you need to get yours”. My heart was not in it and I didn’t stay. Shortly after that I moved to Florida for a year and a half. Now THAT was an experience but not to be out done by living with my “family” in Philly. But that’s for another post. Let’s just say I felt like I was living in an episode of Extreme Hoarders. Again I digress.

The Suga: Don’t ever let anything stop you from pursuing your goals. Put God first and He will handle the details. Do your best and let Him do the rest. When you get knocked down get back up and keep pushing. Most important, get you mind right and stayed on God. Keep pushing. Don’t put out negativity. Own every moment of your life. Does this mean that everything will be smooth sailing? No. But don’t give up. Here’s a poem that I remember hanging up on the fridge when I was growing up.

Don’t Quit – by John Greenleaf Whittier

When things go wrong as they sometimes will, When the road you’re trudging seems all up hill,

When the funds are low and the debts are high And you want to smile, but you have to sigh,

When care is pressing you down a bit, Rest, if you must, but don’t quit.

Life is queer with its twists and turns, As everyone of us sometimes learns,

And many a failure turns about When he might have won had he stuck it out,

Don’t’ give up though the pace seems slow, You may succeed with another blow.

Success is failure turned inside out, The silver tint of the clouds of doubt,

And you never can tell how close you are, It may be near when it seems so far,

So stick to the fight when you’re hardest hit It’s when things seem worst that you must not quit

For all the sad words of tongue or pen, The saddest are these: “It might have been!”

Last word from Eminem….

You can do anything you set your mind to, man

Leave a Reply

